Cara Mund of North Dakota wins Miss America 2018

Cara Mund of North Dakota wins Miss America 2018

Cara Mund from North Dakota was crowned as the winner of Miss America 2018 last night. She battled out 50 other delegates in the contest to claim the title.  The 97th edition of the pageant took place on Sunday September 10th at the Boardwalk Hall in Atlantic City, New Jersey. The finale was hosted by Chris Harrison and Sage Steele. Miss America 2017, Savvy Shields crowned Cara as her successor at the end of the event. Cara became the first woman from North Carolina to win the Miss America pageant she was awarded with a scholarship worth USD 50,000.

At the same event, the first runner-up crown went to Miss Missouri, Jennifer Davis. Miss New Jersey, Kaitlyn Schoeffel bagged the second runner-up crown. Miss District of Columbia, Briana Kinsey & Miss Texas, Margana Wood bagged the third and fourth runner-up crown respectively. In her final Q&A round, Cara was asked about Trump administration’s decision to pull out of the Paris agreement.  She replied.

I do believe it’s a bad decision,” she answered. “Once we reject that, we take ourselves out of the negotiation table and that’s something that we really need to keep in mind. There is evidence that climate change exists. So whether you believe it or not, we need to be at that table, and I think it’s just a bad decision on behalf of the United States.” The complete result of the contest is as below:

Miss America 2018 Full Result

Cara Mund of North Dakota wins Miss America 2018


  • Miss America 2018- North Dakota – Cara Mund
  • 1st runner-up- Missouri – Jennifer Davis
  • 2nd runner-up- New Jersey – Kaitlyn Schoeffel
  • 3rd runner-up -District of Columbia – Briana Kinsey
  • 4th runner-up- Texas – Margana Wood

Top 7:

  • Alabama- Jessica Procter
  • Louisiana- Laryssa Bonacquisti

Top 10:

  • Pennsylvania- Katie Schreckengast
  • South Carolina- Suzi Roberts
  • Virginia- Cecili Weber

Top 12:

  • Georgia- Alyssa Beasley
  • Tennessee- Caty Davis

Top 15:

  • New Mexico- Taylor Rey
  • Alaska- Angelina Klapperich
  • Illinois- Abby Foster

Credits: Miss America Facebook Page