Academy Awards 2015: Full Nominations List

The 87th Edition of Academy Awards will take place on 22nd February 2015 at the Dolby theatre in LA. The nominations were announced today, and taking the lead in nominations were ‘The Grand Budapest Hotel’ & ‘Birdman’  with nine nominations each. Richard Linklater’s Boyhood which got the  top honour at Golden Globes had to settle with  6 nominations. Here is the full list of Nominations


best movie

The Grand Budapest Hotel
American Sniper
The Theory of Everything
The Imitation Game


Alejandro González Iñárritu – Birdman
Richard Linklater – Boyhood
Bennett Miller – Foxcatcher
Wes Anderson – The Grand Budapest Hotel
Morten Tyldum – The Imitation Game


best actor

Benedict Cumberbatch – The Imitation Game

 Bradley CooperAmerican Sniper

 Eddie Redmayne – The Theory of Everything

Steve Carell – Foxcatcher

Michael Keaton – Birdman


leading actresss

Felicity Jones – The Theory of Everything

Julianne Moore – Still Alice

Marion Cotillard – Two Days, One Night

Reese Witherspoon – Wild

Rosamund Pike – Gone Girl


supporting actor

Robert Duvall – The Judge

Mark Ruffalo – Foxcatcher

Edward Norton – Birdman

JK Simmons – Whiplash

Ethan Hawke – Boyhood


supporting actress

Emma Stone – Birdman

Keira Knightley – The Imitation Game

Laura Dern – Wild

Patricia Arquette – Boyhood

Meryl Streep Into the Woods

Best Foreign Film

PicMonkey Collage

Ida – Poland

Tangerines – Estonia

Tangerines  – Russia

Wild Tales  – Argentina

Timbuktu – Mauritania

Best Original Screenplay

Dan Gilroy – Nightcrawler
Alejandro González Iñárritu, Nicolás Giacobone, Alexander Dinelaris, Jr and Armando Bo – Birdman
E Max Frye and Dan Futterman – Foxcatcher
Wes Anderson and Hugo Guinness – The Grand Budapest Hotel
Richard Linklater – Boyhood

Best Adapted Screenplay

Graham Moore – The Imitation Game
Jason Hall – American Sniper
Anthony McCarten – The Theory of Everything
Paul Thomas Anderson – Inherent Vice
Damien Chazelle – Whiplash

Best Documentary

Last Days in Vietnam
The Salt of the Earth
Finding Vivian Maier

Best Animation

Big Hero 6
The Boxtrolls
How to Train Your Dragon 2
Song of the Sea
The Tale of Princess Kaguya

Best Documentary Short

Crisis Hotline: Veterans Press 1
Our Curse
The Reaper
White Earth

Best Cinematography

Emmanuel Lubezki – Birdman
Robert Yeoman – The Grand Budapest Hotel
Lukasz Zal and Ryszard Lenczewski – Ida
Dick Pope – Mr Turner
Roger Deakins – Unbroken

Best Editing

Joel Cox and Gary D Roach – American Sniper
Sandra Adair – Boyhood
Barney Pilling – The Grand Budapest Hotel
William Goldenberg – The Imitation Game
Tom Cross – Whiplash

Best Sound Editing

Alan Robert Murray and Bub Asman – American Sniper
Martin Hernández and Aaron Glascock – Birdman
Brent Burge and Jason Canovas – The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies
Richard King – Interstellar
Becky Sullivan and Andrew DeCristofaro – Unbroken

Best original song

Everything Is Awesome – The Lego Movie (music and lyric by Shawn Patterson, performed by Tegan & Sara feat The Lonely Island)
Glory – Selma (music and lyric by John Stephens and Lonnie Lynn, performed by Common and John Legend)
Grateful – Beyond the Lights (music and lyric by Diane Warren, performed by Rita Ora)
I’m Not Going to Miss You – Glen Campbell … I’ll Be Me (music, lyric and performance by Glen Campbell)
Lost Stars – Begin Again (music and lyric by Gregg Alexander and Danielle Brisebois, performed by Adam Levine)

Best original score

Alexandre Desplat – The Grand Budapest Hotel
Alexandre Desplat – The Imitation Game
Hans Zimmer – Interstellar
Gary Yershon – Mr Turner
Jóhann Jóhannsson – The Theory of Everything

Best Sound Mixing

ohn Reitz, Gregg Rudloff and Walt Martin – American Sniper
Jon Taylor, Frank A. Montaño and Thomas Varga – Birdman
Gary A. Rizzo, Gregg Landaker and Mark Weingarten – Interstellar
Jon Taylor, Frank A. Montaño and David Lee – Unbroken
Craig Mann, Ben Wilkins and Thomas Curley – Whiplash

Best Visual Effects

Dan Deleeuw, Russell Earl, Bryan Grill and Dan Sudick – Captain America: The Winter Soldier
Joe Letteri, Dan Lemmon, Daniel Barrett and Erik Winquist – Dawn of the Planet of the Apes
Stephane Ceretti, Nicolas Aithadi, Jonathan Fawkner and Paul Corbould –Guardians of the Galaxy
Paul Franklin, Andrew Lockley, Ian Hunter and Scott Fisher – Interstellar
Richard Stammers, Lou Pecora, Tim Crosbie and Cameron Waldbauer – X-Men: Days of Future Past

Best Short Film (Animated)

Me and My Moulton

The Bigger Picture
The Dam Keeper
A Single Life

Best Costume Design

Colleen Atwood – Into the Woods

Milena Canonero – The Grand Budapest Hotel
Anna B Sheppard and Jane Clive – Maleficent

Mark Bridges – Inherent Vice

Jacqueline Durran – Mr Turner

Best Make up and Hair

Bill Corso and Dennis Liddiard – Foxcatcher
Elizabeth Yianni-Georgiou and David White – Guardians of the Galaxy

Frances Hannon and Mark Coulier – The Grand Budapest Hotel

Best Short

Boogaloo and Graham
The Phone Call
Butter Lamp